Runner on 3rd with 1 out. Batter grounds to shortstop and is thrown out at 1st. Runner from 3rd scores. Does this count as a time at bat for the batter or is it a sacrifice? Our scorekeeper says it ...
Runner on 3rd with 1 out. Batter grounds to shortstop and is thrown out at 1st. Runner from 3rd scores. Does this count as a time at bat for the batter or is it a sacrifice? Our scorekeeper says it was a fielder's choice and the batter gets an rbi but still counts as a time at bat.
Your scorekeeper is correct. Normally I wouldn't correct Mr. Balrog because he usually gives great info. But in this case it is not considered a sacrifice. The batter would be 0-1 with an RBI. Score it 6-3 in your scorebook.
I don't want to be confrontational, but I really would like to see the rule that covers this. I haven't kept up with the rules recently, so they may have changed, or it's also quite possible I"m not familiar with the rule(s) that cover this situation. Thanks.
Also, since the runner on third has the option whether to advance or not, I don't think a fielders choice applies.
I can't quote you a specific rule number off the top of my head. All I can say is I've been involved in Baseball my whole life and I know the situation described is not considered a sacrifice. It's a ground out with an RBI. If he had hit a fly ball and the guy scored it would be a sacrifice fly and it would not count as an at bat. If they had done a squueze play and the batter bunted and the runner scored, that also would be a sacrifice and would not count as an at bat. But a ground ball to short with the runner scoring from third is never called a sacrifice. It's an RBI and an at bat. He's 0-1 with an RBI. Sorry I don't know the rule number but I'm sure someone out there will find it.
Oh, BTW I'm not claiming it's a fielders choice. Just that it's not a sacrifice and does count as an at bat.
OK, thanks. I'll have to brush up on the rules on that one.