Bar None Drinks
No, it is a grain based spirit.
First of all I think it's important to note that there is a difference between WHEAT free and GLUTEN free. Typically if a beverage is considered wheat free it is also gluten free but not always, additionally more likely than not a beverage can be gluten free and not wheat free because of the changes in chemical structures durring the heating/distilling process. That said here is what I know about WHEAT free.
There are a number of drinks free from wheat, barley, and rye:
Rum is made from sugar or molasses, and is grain free.
Brandy (including cognac, armagnac etc) is distilled wine - but watch out for fruit ``brandies'' that are really fruit liqueurs and likely to have grain spirit as the base. Apple brandies (like calvados and applejack) and other eau de vie distilled from fermented fruit are fine.
A lot of vodka is made from grain, usually rye, wheat, or barley. Avoid these! Most US vodkas are made from neutral grain spirit, mostly from maize/corn, and thus may or may not be safe. I don't have information regarding particular brands other than those listed below.
There are, however, some widely available potato vodkas. I'd recommend Luksusowa, which seems to be widely available, and cheap, in USA and Canada. Also, it's an excellent vodka. Chopin, a rather more expensive Polish vodka in a fancy bottle, is another excellent potato vodka.
Other wheat/barley/rye-free vodkas include Spodka (potato, Poland), Vistula (potato, Poland), Teton Glacier Potato Vodka (potato, USA), Rain (maize/corn, USA), Exclusiv (sugarcane, Puerto Rico), Bushman's (sugarcane, Australia).
Actually, some people with GLUTEN allergies should be able to drink pretty much any vodka, depending on whether or not the particular things they are allergic to make it through the distillation, and how sensitive they are.
A lot of gins will be made from maize/corn derived neutral spirit, and are wheat-free. However alot of companies outsource their base products and can't make solid claims about being wheat free AND alot of gins are made from a mix of grains. Alas, no information about any specific gins.
You might be able to find corn liquor that's 100% maize/corn. All bourbons have wheat, barley, or rye as well as maize, so avoid them.
100% agave tequila and mezcal is wheat free; cheaper blended tequilas may or may not be - they usually use cane sugar as the extra, but if you react badly to wheat, watch out when trying unfamiliar ones.
Many liqueurs are made on a base of grain spirits, so be careful with liqueurs. Brandy and rum based liqueurs should be OK. Tia Maria is rum base, the manufacturers tell me that Cointreau is grain-free.
Wine is grain-free. Sake is wheat free. Cider (alcoholic cider or hard cider) is fermented apple juice, it should be fine. Read the ingredients, though, since some you find might use barley malt as an extra. You'll have to avoid beer.
Probabully the best bet is to find a liquer store with a highly knowledgable staff and they'll most likely be able to point you in the direction of the wheat free or glutin free beverages.
Other people asked questions on similar topics, check out the answers they received:
Other people asked questions on various topics, and are still waiting for answer. Would be great if you can take a sec and answer them