http://www.highschooldriver.com/drivers-ed/ says:"Drivers Ed in NO longer optional and class MUST be taken before getting a LEARNER'S PERMIT. Florida's laws say this:
in Florida you must complete a Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness course (4 hour class) before you can apply for your learners permit. Cost is $29.95 and can be taken online at your leisure.
Florida Learner Permit Facts
You must be 15 to get a Florida Learners Permit
You must complete the DATA course to get your learner permit
You can take the DATA course at age 14 1/2. The course can be completed online or in a classroom
Once you complete your DATA course we recommend you take the Pass the First Time Program to prepare for the DMV test you will take at a local DMV office."