Roots, nuts, and berries are fine. Vegetables are OK. Bread, bagel or pretzel, OK, but not pastry. Meat (beef, pork, lamb, goat, chicken, turkey, etc.) is generally forbidden. In some strict observances, no egg or dairy product is allowed including butter and cheese. Mardi Gras (Fat Tuesday) was the last day to use up butter and animal fat before Ash Wednesday. In some traditions fish is allowed. In some traditions, fasting is recommended; you get one full meal and two smaller meals that together do not equal a full meal. Very few practice a complete fast or limit themselves to bread and water.