Originated From
AOL Search

Babysitting laws in texas

how old does a child have to be to babysit a sibling at home alone in the state of texas

Liked this question? Tell your friends about it

Answers

Babysitting is a popular for young teens to earn extra money while getting a taste of entrepreneurship.

Under the Texas babysitting laws, there is no minimum age to start babysitting. In many areas, teens as young as 11 baby sit. In general, younger teens should start by caring for siblings, or for one child who is between the ages of 4 and 8 years old. Gradually, increase the number of children and expand the ages cared for.

While most experts recommend that youngsters under 13 not be left alone with children, keeping the kids busy while their mom relaxes another part of the house is a great way to build experience.  Most experts agree that the younger the child to be cared for, the older the sitter should be. Beware of hiring a sitter who is too close in age to the child, however. A 12-year-old may not be able to exert authority over a 10-year-old.  If baby sitting is going to be a full time daily activity, from 8 to 5, then anyone over the age of 18 should be able to baby sit.

The City of College Station Texas, home of Texas A&M, offers a number of tips for new babysitters. Take your babysitting responsibility seriously. Part of that responsibility is protecting yourself as well as the children you will be taking care of. Know your employer before you take the job. Check the parent’s references before accepting the job. Arrange your own transportation. Give your parents a code word you can use if you are in a bad situation and need them to come pick you up ASAP.

Before accepting the job, get specific instructions about the number and ages of children, bed times, foods, medicines, and other information about personal habits and what is expected of you. Never give a child any medication unless the parent has approved it in advance.

Babysitter certification classes are not required under the Texas babysitting laws, but they are a good idea. When you accept a job, arrive early to confirm all of this information and get any additional instructions. Learning first aid procedures before you take on babysitting jobs will help prepare you for emergencies and may save a life. Both the American Red Cross and the Girl Scouts offer classes across the state.

Related Questions

Other people asked questions on similar topics, check out the answers they received:

Asked: How much should babysitters get paid?

My daughter is 11 years old and very responsible. She has a Red Cross babysitting degree and is in 6th grade. She is in honors classes at school. She has experience with children. How much do you ...

Asked: Babysitting

is it safe for a 13 yr old to watch a 1 yr and an 5 yr old?

Asked: How old do you have to be to babysit in florida

how old do you have to be to babysit in florida

Be The First To Answer

Other people asked questions on various topics, and are still waiting for answer. Would be great if you can take a sec and answer them

Ask a Question... We'll forward it to people who know

More Questions

What is the law regarding having a phone in a short term rental

The property owner is responsible for providing basic livability. IE: water, sewage, electricity, locks on doors and windows, sound construction, and pest control. All single occupancy houses, and apartments must have working inset phone lines. However, a working phone is not required. If the ...

What are the workers compensation Law in new jersey?

This is an insurance that provides medical care benifits for workers who are injured in Job.

Under texas law how do I transfer assets to my living trust

You can go to a bank to ask to change the name on a bank account from your name(s) to the name of the trust, typically with you as trustee. You will have to give them copies of at least part of the trust document. You can put stocks and mutual funds in the name of the trust by visiting their web ...

What are texas harassment laws? i have a neighbor ...

i have a neighbor who drives his car over my yard to park so that his wife dont have to get out and move her car, what should i do